20 views

Last year, the entire world was in turmoil due to the COVID-19 pandemic that’s still plaguing most countries today. To ease lockdown restrictions, Sony launced the Play at Home program that gave players free games! Sony has announced the new Play at Home initiative today, and once again, gamers are getting free stuff!

This year’s Play at Home initative starts on March 1 until June. Here’s the initial batch of free stuff gamers are getting:

Starting March 1, 2021

  • PlayStation and Insomniac Games will make Ratchet & Clank PS4 available for free download for a limited time through PlayStation Store from March 1 at 8pm PST / March 2 at 4am GMT / 5am CET to March 31, 2021 at 8pm PDT* / April 1 at 4am BST / 5am CEST. Once you redeem the game, it will be yours to keep. This 2016 PS4 action-adventure hit from Insomniac Games revisits the origin stories of these beloved PlayStation heroes and features a great mix of outrageous combat and comedy.

Starting March 25, 2021

  • Our friends at Funimation (a joint venture of Sony Pictures Entertainment and Aniplex of Japan) are kicking in a very special offer: extended access for new subscribers to Funimation or Wakanim in the countries they are available **. Funimation is an anime-focused subscription service and Wakanim is  Funimation’s European division. While there will be additional details to follow, this offer is only available to our community who sign up for and download the Funimation (in the United States, Canada, United Kingdom, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand) or Wakanim apps (in most of Western and Northern Europe) starting on March 25 for a limited time.

According to Sony, this is just the beginning of what’s in store for this new Play at Home program, and from the looks of it, games aren’t the only thing gamers are getting.

While I live getting free games, let’s hope this is the last Play at Home program that’s necessitated by the pandemic. Let’s hope that by next year, Sony is giving out free games just because they want to, and not because we’re forced to stay inside our homes.

Source: PlayStation Blog